Tuesday, March 2, 2010

3 Idiots and Dev D won 6 each at the Filmfare awards

3 Idiots and Dev D vastly different films swept up an equal number of trophies at the 55th Idea Filmfare Awards held at a glittering ceremony at Yash Raj Studios in Andheri on Saturday.

While Vidhu Vinod Chopra’s 3 Idiots snapped up the most popular awards Best Film, Best Director, Best Story, Best Screenplay, Best Dialogue and Best Supporting Actor (Boman Irani). Anurag Kashyap’s Dev D won six as well.

The Best Actor award went to Amitabh Bachchan for his performance as a progeria afflicted child in Paa, while Vidya Balan walked away with the Best Actress trophy for the same film.

Much to the delight of the spectators, show hosts Shah Rukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan were back after taking a break last year owing to SRK’s elbow injury. Wasting no time at all, the irrepressible duo launched their antics on the red carpet itself, and kept pulling out the gags thick and fast through the evening.

True to style, the awards were punctuated with live performances by A-list actors Salman Khan, Kareena Kapoor, Katrina Kaif, Deepika Padukone, Shahid Kapoor as well as Riteish Deshmukh and Jacqueline. Salman Khan stole the show by dancing wildly to the kind of songs that front-benchers love him for.

Katrina Kaif was another class act with a medley of recent songs, while Kareena Kapoor sidestepped the customary medley of hits for an elaborate sequence of Zoobi Doobi from 3 Idiots.

Deepika Padukone, on her part, belied her mere couple of years in the industry by performing with the ease of a veteran. As Shahid Kapoor’s did a mean moonwalk; the audience’s thoughts went back to the colossal loss of the past year Michael Jackson.

Another warm tribute was reserved for the living legends. The audience rose as one when actor Shashi Kapoor and composer Khayyam were awarded this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards.

In a departure from tradition, the Best Debut awards this year were given to talented diretors instead of actors Zoya Akhtar for Luck By Chance and Ayaan Mukherji for Wake

No comments:

Post a Comment